Longing for God

longing

We all experience times when God seems absent, and we long for the reassurance of his presence. I long for the real God of the Bible. I long for the God who loves, forgives, and brings change in people’s lives. Sometimes we let our circumstances in life perhaps the pain in our life to cloud his presence.  Jesus says the water he gives takes away our thirst. It becomes a perpetual spring within us and he gives eternal life. There is a bigger picture here. Jesus is the only person I will be accountable for my life. And for that reason I will try to deal with that circumstance and pain in my life by God’s guidance. His word guides me the do the right thing. Longing for people to make us fulfilled in life ends up draining us. I want to encourage you tonight to keep your eyes focused on Jesus despite the hurt you feel tonight. Be influenced by His character.  I’ve been reading a book called, “Taking out your emotional trash, face your feelings and build healthy relationships.” by Georgia Shaffer. She wrote about unfulfilled desires and here is a snippet of what she wrote,

“When we demand that another person safety, certainty, and fulfillment of our deepest desires, we turn from God to an idol for the fulfillment of our needs. When we turn from God, we inevitably demand of others the very things we miss in our relationship with God. If we don’t know his deep care and protection, then we will insist another human being provide what we lack.” 

In the last couple months I’ve longed for God and getting closer to Him. My husband has been away for the past 4 months, I’ve witnessed my kids missing their daddy, my Dad’s 10 year anniversary came Thanksgiving day, and I had a health scare. I dealt with all this without my best friend being present, but his prayers meant the world to me, because God is always present in our lives.  He has given me the strength to get through these trials. There were a few special friends that prayed for me. I love them to pieces. One of them I never met in person (love you Jennifer), but that’s the beauty of the Lord working out hearts together. We all love the Lord and we’re there for each other walking this journey of life together side by side.  I can’t thank them enough for being there for me in my darkest times. Their words of encouragement lifted up my spirits. So if you’re reading….Love you ladies!

There is hope friend…..

Freedom from addiction is possible

Reconciliation is possible

Forgiveness is possible

Loving each other despite our differences is possible

Being cancer free is possible

and it all comes through Jesus. I am sharing tonight God’s faithfulness in my life and His words of truth. Don’t give up. Hold onto His words closely. He brings freedom. I praise him tonight for all that he is doing in my life.

God wants you to experience who he is not just to know information about him. Seek him and he will satisfy your desire to know him intimately.

Psalm 63 

O God, you are my God,
    and I long for you.
My whole being desires you;
    like a dry, worn-out, and waterless land,
    my soul is thirsty for you.
Let me see you in the sanctuary;
    let me see how mighty and glorious you are.
Your constant love is better than life itself,
    and so I will praise you.
I will give you thanks as long as I live;
    I will raise my hands to you in prayer.
My soul will feast and be satisfied,
    and I will sing glad songs of praise to you.

As I lie in bed, I remember you;
    all night long I think of you,
    because you have always been my help.
In the shadow of your wings I sing for joy.
I cling to you,
    and your hand keeps me safe.

“Let the morning bring me word of Your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in You. Show me the way I should go, for to You I entrust my life.”Psalm 143:8

By His Grace,

Rebecca

2 thoughts on “Longing for God

  1. Rebecca!😍 I was absolutley blessed by this!! What God showed you ministered to my heart, i needed to read this. I have been going through some trials. And that vs was perfect it was everything ive been longing for. Thank you for your faithfulness to God! And being His servant and ministering to us through this blog. I miss you girl, your amazing woman of God!!❤
    Blessings in Him,
    Adrienne ❤

Leave a Reply

